IPL 2021 Final Stat Preview: MS Dhoni eyes 4th title in 10th final, KKR look to maintain perfect record

YB WEB DESK. Dated: 10/16/2021 3:01:48 PM

New Delhi, Oct 15 Chennai Super Kings are undoubtedly one of the most decorated teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). MS Dhoni's men have reached as many as 9 finals and won 3 titles. However, in those 9 finals, CSK have lost 6, highlighting a peculiar inconsistent run over the years. CSK have lost 5 of their last 6 finals since meeting Kolkata Knight Riders in the summit clash in 2012. For a team that is known for pulling off some improbable victories, MS Dhoni's men have underperformed in the final matches. On their return to the IPL in 2018, CSK showcased stunning form and beat Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final but lost to Mumbai Indians by 1 run in the following year. CSK and KKR met in the summit clash of IPL 2012 in Chennai. After opting to bat, CSK posted a mammoth total of 190, riding on a fifty from Michael Hussey and a 38-ball 73 by Suresh Raina. However, a blinder from Manvinder Bisla (48-ball 89) helped KKR overpower CSK. Allrounder Jacques Kallis hit a 49-ball 69 as Gautam Gambhir's men won their first title for KKR. With the victory, KKR also denied Chennai Super Kings an opportunity to complete a hat-trick of IPL titles as they had won the 2010 and 2011 editions. Under MS Dhoni, CSK have played 8 IPL finals so far and have lost 5, including the summit clash of the inaugural edition. MS Dhoni has an opportunity to right all the wrongs from the previous season. The CSK skipper will be featuring in his 10th IPL final. Notably, he had lost with Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL 2017 final to Mumbai Indians. Kolkata Knight Riders, on the other hand, can take confidence from their perfect record in the IPL finals. Gambhir led KKR to their maiden title in 2012 and led them to glory once again in 2014. Punjab Kings (then Kings XI Punjab) had posted 199 after batting first but KKR gunned down the target in just 19.4 overs. Both teams will be looking to chase in Dubai as teams batting second have won the last 8 times in IPL 2021 at the venue. Meanwhile, Harbhajan Singh has a unique opportunity to complete title wins with 3 different franchises if KKR script history tonight. The off-spinner had won the title with CSK and Mumbai Indians in the past. Robin Uthappa, who won the title with KKR in 2014, will be looking to complete a rare double as he will be playing for CSK tonight against his former franchise.


Face to Face

Face To Face With Atul Kumar Goel (IPS) DIG, Jammu-Samba-Kathua Range J&K... Read More





Daily horoscope