MCC on Fakhar Zaman run-out controversy: Up to the umpires to decide if Quinton de Kock's act was wilful

YB WEB DESK. Dated: 4/6/2021 11:57:03 AM


Johannesburg, Apr 5 The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) on Monday said that it was "up to the umpires to decide" if Fakhar Zaman's controversial run out in the 2nd ODI against South Africa an be deemed legal or not. Fakhar Zaman's scintillating 193-run-knock ended in a bizarre fashion when he was undone by a direct hit from deep by Aiden Markram in the first ball of the final over. Zaman was comfortably positioned to complete the second run but he mistook the throw to be going to the other end before seeing the stumps disturbed by the direct hit. Questions are being asked of de Kock's deliberate attempt to distract Zaman but the Pakistan opener refused to put the blame on the Proteas wicketkeeper. The MCC has now weighed in on this issue. "Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball” "The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived. "It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it's Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball," the MCC.

 

Face to Face

Indian Army organises tour of 'Air force' for Kashmiri Youth to motivate youth to join Indian Army and Air Force... Read More
 

FACEBOOK

 

Twitter

 
 

Daily horoscope

 

Weather