YB WEB DESK. Dated: 2/22/2021 1:31:41 PM

Parimarjan Negi

Parimarjan Negi (born 9 February 1993) is an Indian chess grandmaster. He achieved the grandmaster title at the age of 13 years, 4 months, and 20 days, which makes him the sixth youngest grandmaster in history. Negi is an Indian and Asian champion. He played on the top board for the bronze medal-winning Indian team in the 2014 Chess Olympiad in Tromsø, Norway. He was granted the Arjuna Award in 2010 by the Government of India. Chess career Parimarjan Negi won the under 10 division at the Asian Youth Chess Championship in 2002 in Tehran. He achieved his first grandmaster norm at the 2005/06 Hastings International Chess Congress. Soon after he earned his second GM norm at the 4th Parsvnath International Open Chess Tournament in Delhi. Negi earned his third and final GM norm on 1 July 2006 by drawing with Russian Grandmaster Ruslan Sherbakov at the Chelyabinsk Region Superfinal Championship in Satka, Russia, where he finished with six points from nine rounds. Negi thus became the youngest chess grandmaster ever in India, breaking Pentala Harikrishna's record, and the second youngest ever in the world. Negi won the strong Philadelphia International Open Tournament in June 2008 with a score of 7/9, and was undefeated. In August 2008, he finished second, behind Abhijeet Gupta, at the World Junior Chess Championship in Gazientep. In 2009 he won the Politiken Cup in Copenhagen with 8.5/10, on tiebreaks over Boris Avrukh, and the 6th IGB Dato' Arthur Tan Malaysia Open in Kuala Lumpur. Parimarjan Negi won the 48th National Premier Chess Championship on 22 December 2010 in New Delhi. In 2012 Negi has won the 11th Asian Chess Championship held in Ho Chi Minh City. He tied for first place in the Cappelle-la-Grande Open in 2012 and 2013. In 2013, he also won the Politiken Cup.


Face to Face

Indian Army organises tour of 'Air force' for Kashmiri Youth to motivate youth to join Indian Army and Air Force... Read More





Daily horoscope