Higher Studies

YB WEB DESK. Dated: 12/13/2019 12:08:24 PM

Indian Institute of Technology (BHU)

Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University) Varanasi (IIT BHU) is a public engineering and research institution located in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. Founded in 1919 as the Banaras Engineering College, it became the Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University in 1968. It was designated an Indian Institute of Technology in 2012. IIT (BHU) Varanasi has 15 departments and 3 inter-disciplinary schools. IIT (BHU) Varanasi has formerly been known as the Banaras Engineering College (BENCO), the College of Mining and Metallurgy (MINMET), the College of Technology (TECHNO) and the Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University (IT-BHU). Its establishment is intimately linked with that of the Banaras Hindu University (BHU). The first convocation ceremony at BHU was held on 19 January 1919. BHU has the credit of first starting degree classes in Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Metallurgy and Pharmaceutics. IIT (BHU) Varanasi offers fouryear instructional programs for the degree of Bachelor of Technology (B. Tech.) and fiveyear programs for Integrated Dual Degree (IDD). The IDD program offers both B. Tech. and M. Tech. degrees. Admission to all programs is expressly through the Joint Entrance Examination conducted by the Indian Institutes of Technology. Postgraduate courses offer Master of Technology (M. Tech.) and Ph.D. degrees. Admissions to the M. Tech program are made through the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) conducted jointly by Indian Institute of Science.


Face to Face

Vijay Gupta Editor-in-Chief YoungBites in Conversation with Yasha Mudgal MD, JPDCL... Read More





Daily horoscope