Aditya Tare, Jay Bista guide Mumbai to 9-wicket win over MP

YB WEB DESK. Dated: 11/12/2019 11:26:17 AM

New Delhi, Nov 11 Domestic giants Mumbai continued its winning run in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy thrashing Madhya Pradesh by nine wickets here on Monday. This is Mumbai's third win on the trot after they beat Mizoram and Haryana in the first two league games of Group D in the national T20 tournament. In the game at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai rode on blistering half centuries by openers Jay Bista (68 off 36 balls) and Aditya Tare (74 not out off 48 balls) to chase the 160-run target with ease. Electing to bat, Madhya Pradesh had a horrendous start with their opener Ashutosh Sharma being run out on a zero on the first ball of the innings. Skipper Naman Ojha (22 off 17 balls) and one down Rajat Patidar (25 off 17 balls) tried to steady the ship with a 39-run stand for the second wicket. When Ojha, who hit three fours and a six, appeared to take his side ahead, leftarm spinner Shams Mulani cleaned him up. Two down Parth Sahani made a quick fire 47 off 36 balls, hitting three fours and two sixes, before being bowled by mediumpacer Shubham Ranjane. Both Patidar and Sahani failed to convert their starts as MP were reeling at 108 for 4. An unbeaten 31 off 29 balls from Anand Bais and 19- ball 24 from Venkatesh Iyer helped MP breach the 150-run mark. For the hosts, Shams Mulani (1-17), Ranjane (1-24), Sujit Nayak (1-26) and Tushar Deshpande (1-34) were among the wickets. Chasing 160, Bista and Tare laid the foundation stone of the win with an 111-run stand for the opening wicket. The duo took a listless MP attack to the cleaners with Bista the more aggressive of the two. While Bista smashed seven fours and four sixes, Tare hit 10 boundaries and two other hits over the fence.


Face to Face

Vijay Gupta Editor-in-Chief YoungBites in Conversation with Yasha Mudgal MD, JPDCL... Read More





Daily horoscope