BJP’s Yuvraj Singh wins Hamirpur bypoll

YB WEB DESK. Dated: 9/27/2019 6:11:44 PM

BJP candidate Yuvraj Singh on Thursday won the bypoll to the Hamirpur assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh by a margin of over 17,846 votes, defeating his nearest rival Samajwadi Party candidate Manoj Prajapati.

Singh secured 74,374 votes, while Prajapati got 56,528 votes, the Election Commission said.

In the bypoll, which was held on September 23, 51 per cent polling was recorded.

The by-election in this seat was necessitated due to the disqualification of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel following his conviction in a murder case.

Nine candidates, including the Congress’s Hardeepak Nishad and Naushad Ali of the BSP, were in the poll fray.

Nishad got 16,096 votes while Naushad Ali secured 28,790 votes.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath congratulated Singh on his victory.

“This is victory of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ideology of ‘Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas’,” the CM said in a statement issued here.


Face to Face

Indian Army organises tour of 'Air force' for Kashmiri Youth to motivate youth to join Indian Army and Air Force... Read More





Daily horoscope